burgraveburgrave

6 products

    Straightforward design – handmade in the Northern Black Forest

    Bags from »burggrafburggraf« stand for unobtrusive aesthetics - unconventionally cut and sophisticated in detail. We design bags, backpacks and accessories with clear lines, unmistakable character and the conviction that good design is characterized above all by the omission of unnecessary elements.

    We design for people who strive for clarity and reduction to the essentials. For people who value quality craftsmanship. And for people who want to know where and under what conditions their bag was made.

    We are designers & makers: In our studio in Bad Liebenzell in the Northern Black Forest We design trend-independent companions with a clear design language, a calm color palette and a focus on sustainable and innovative materials. All products are handcrafted by us in small editions with care and precision.

    »burggrafburggraf« is the label of the product designers and twin sisters Nicola Burggraf and Elena Burggraf-Reusch. After studying together at the Offenbach am Main University of Art and Design, we initially went our separate ways and worked for several years in various agencies and institutions in the areas of design research, exhibition and content design until we brought together what belongs together again by founding our joint label. Our first collection was presented in November 2017. In 2020 we received the German Design Award in Gold for our Como backpack and the State Prize for Design Art and Crafts 2020 for the Reto clutch.

    Five questions for burggrafburggraf:

    What inspires you?

    Most of the time it is the direct handling of the materials themselves - the way a textile falls, feels, or can be shaped or not shaped. We observe and test the properties of our materials very closely so that we can use them in our designs in a way that is appropriate for the material. This is how their advantages are best shown. Nature, architecture and art also inspire our designs.

    How did you feel when you held your first finished product in your hands?

    We worked on our launch collection for over a year and a half. Because we make each of our bags personally, we have full control over how each seam sits and we keep working on the details until everything is just right. The moment when the collection finally went online was incredibly exciting because you are releasing something you have worked on for a long time into the world.

    What makes your products so special?

    Our bags are very subtle, but highly recognizable. We work with clear silhouettes, sharply cut edges and a calm color palette. The unifying element of our first collection is the box pleat, in which a stainless steel bar is embedded. It is the hanging point for a drawstring or the straps, which we attach with a girdle knot - a knot that has been used for centuries both on land and at sea. We love it for its simple elegance. The fact that we avoid animal materials in our entire collection is also important to us.

    What does “good design” mean to you?

    This can be answered quite well with a quote from Dieter Rams: "My goal is rather to leave out everything superfluous so that the essentials come to the fore." For us, good design is unobtrusive, reduced to the bare essentials, always undecorated, harmonious in form and function and as sustainable as possible.

    What is your favorite material and why?

    We rely on the processing of plant-based materials. We source the cork for our launch collection from Portugal. Cork is a renewable raw material that does not require the felling of a single tree. Regularly stripping the cork oaks by hand using traditional methods actually increases the tree's life expectancy and thus helps to preserve the precious ecosystem of the Portuguese cork oak forests. In the resting phase after harvest, the cork oak is able to bind up to five times more CO2 . With our collection, we offer design-conscious people a real alternative to conventional leather products.

    Contact details:

    burgraveburgrave
    Nicola Burggraf, Elena Burggraf-Reusch

    Hopfweg 3

    75378 Bad Liebenzell

    Email: info@burggrafburggraf.de

    Recently viewed

Es sieht so aus als wärst du aus . Möchtest du zum Shop für die ? Ja, bitte or Nein, danke.

burggrafburggraf

Geradliniges Design – 100 % Handmade in Stuttgart

Taschen von »burggrafburggraf« stehen für unaufdringliche Ästhetik - unkonventionell geschnitten und raffiniert im Detail. Wir gestalten Taschen, Rucksäcke und Accessoires mit klaren Linien, unverwechselbarem Charakter und der Überzeugung, dass sich gutes Design vor allem auch durch den Verzicht auf unnötige Elemente auszeichnet.

Wir gestalten für Menschen, die nach Klarheit und nach Reduktion auf das Wesentliche streben. Für Menschen, die handwerkliche Qualität schätzen. Und für Menschen, die wissen möchten, wo und unter welchen Bedingungen ihre Tasche gefertigt wurde.

Wir sind Designer & Maker: In unserem Atelier in Stuttgart entwerfen wir trendunabhängige Begleiter mit klarer Formensprache, ruhiger Farbpalette und einem Fokus auf nachhaltigen und innovativen Materialien. Alle Produkte werden mit Sorgfalt und Präzision von uns in kleiner Auflage handgefertigt.

»burggrafburggraf« ist das Label der Produktdesignerinnen und Zwillingsschwestern Nicola Burggraf und Elena Burggraf-Reusch. Nach dem gemeinsamen Studium an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach am Main gingen wir zunächst getrennte Wege und arbeiteten mehrere Jahre in verschiedenen Agenturen und Institutionen in den Bereichen Design Research, Exhibition und Content Design, bis wir mit der Gründung unseres gemeinsamen Labels wieder zusammen brachten, was zusammen gehört. Unsere erste Kollektion wurde im November 2017 vorgestellt.

Fünf Fragen an burggrafburggraf:

Was inspiriert Euch?

Meist ist es der direkte Umgang mit den Materialien selbst - die Art wie ein Textil fällt, sich anfühlt oder sich formen oder eben nicht formen lässt. Wir beobachten und testen die Eigenschaften unserer Materialien ganz genau, damit wir sie in unseren Entwürfen materialgerecht einsetzen können. So kommen ihre Vorzüge am besten zur Geltung. Natur, Architektur und Kunst inspiriert unsere Entwürfe ebenso.

Wie habt Ihr euch gefühlt, als Ihr Euer erstes fertiges Produkt in den Händen gehalten habt?

An unserer Launch-Kollektion haben wir über eineinhalb Jahre gearbeitet. Da wir jede unserer Taschen auch persönlich fertigen, haben wir die volle Kontrolle darüber, wie jede Naht sitzt und feilen solange an den Details, bis alles wirklich stimmig ist. Der Moment, als die Kollektion schließlich online ging, war unglaublich aufregend, da man etwas in die Welt entlässt, an dem man sehr lange gearbeitet hat.

Was macht Eure Produkte so besonders?

Unsere Taschen sind sehr subtil, haben aber einen hohen Wiedererkennungswert. Wir arbeiten mit klaren Silhouetten, scharf geschnittenen Kanten und einer ruhigen Farbpalette. Das vereinende Element unserer ersten Kollektion ist die Kellerfalte, in die ein Edelstahlsteg eingebettet ist. Er ist Aufhängepunkt für ein Zugband oder die Träger, die wir mit einem Ankerstichknoten befestigen – ein Knoten, der seit Jahrhunderten sowohl an Land als auch auf See verwendet wird. Wir lieben ihn wegen seiner schlichten Eleganz. Das wir bei unserer gesamten Kollektion auf tierische Materialien verzichten, ist uns ebenfalls wichtig.

Was bedeutet für Euch „Gutes Design“?

Das kann man ziemlich gut mit einem Zitat von Dieter Rams beantworten: „Mein Ziel ist vielmehr, alles Überflüssige wegzulassen, damit das Wesentliche umso eher zur Geltung kommt.“ Gutes Design ist für uns unaufdringlich, auf das Nötigste reduziert, immer undekoriert, in Form und Funktion harmonisch und so nachhaltig wie möglich.

Was ist Euer Lieblingsmaterial und warum?

Wir setzen auf die Verarbeitung von pflanzlichen Materialien. Das Korkleder unserer Launch-Kollektion beziehen wir aus Portugal. Kork ist ein nachwachsender Rohstoff für dessen Gewinnung kein einziger Baum fallen muss. Das regelmäßige Abschälen der Korkeichen in traditioneller Handarbeit erhöht sogar die Lebenserwartung des Baumes und hilft damit auch das kostbare Ökosystem der portugiesischen Korkeichenwälder zu bewahren. In der Ruhephase nach der Ernte ist die Korkeiche in der Lage bis zu fünfmal mehr CO2 zu binden. Mit unserer Kollektion bieten wir Design-affinen Menschen eine echte Alternative zu herkömmlichem Lederprodukten.

 

Kontaktdaten:

burggrafburggraf
Nicola Burggraf, Elena Burggraf-Reusch
Helfergasse 1
70372 Stuttgart

E-Mail: info@burggrafburggraf.de